Search site

Local Government Elections 2017

The City and County of Swansea is one of Wales' 22 unitary authorities which delivers a wide range of services including waste, recycling and environmental services, schools, social services, planning and housing.

The City and County of Swansea has 72 Councillors who are elected to represent their Local Community (Electoral Division). Contested Local Government elections will be held on Thursday 4 May 2017.

How are Councillors elected?

Those people entitled to vote will receive a ballot paper listing all the candidates standing to be a Councillor in their Electoral Division. People may be asked to vote for more than one candidate depending on the number of vacancies within the Electoral Division they live in.

People can vote in person at their local Polling Station or they can apply to vote by post or proxy.

Who can vote in the Local Government Elections?

You can vote in local government elections if you have registered to vote in time for the election, are aged 18 or over and are:

  • a British Citizen living in the UK
  • a qualifying Commonwealth citizen living in the UK*
  • a citizen of the Irish Republic living in the UK
  • a European Union citizen living in the UK
  • registered to vote as a Crown Servant
  • registered to vote as a service voter

* Commonwealth citizens must live in the UK and have leave to remain, or not require such leave.

Who cannot vote in the Local Government Elections?

A British citizen living abroad and registered to vote as an overseas elector.

To find out who the candidates are, how to vote and more, please visit the sections below:

Local Government Elections 2017 - Results

In this section you will find an interactive map that will be updated as results come in.

Election timetable

A timetable highlighting the key dates for the Local Government Elections 2017.

Becoming a Councillor 2017

Are you interested in representing the people of Swansea by becoming a Councillor

Nomination pack

A nomination pack can be downloaded.

Where is my Polling Station?

Polling hours for the Local Government Elections will be 7am to 10pm. Your allocated polling station will be shown on your poll card or alternatively you can use our post code search.

Powered by GOSS iCM